Many people prefer to travel by car rather than buses or trains.

Why do you think this happens?

What can government do to motivate people travel by buses or trains?

It is a fact that countless people prefer to travel by cars instead of buses and cars. What are the reasons behind it? To motivate people to travel by public transport what government can do. This essay will discuss both of these questions.

There are many reasons to use private cars. First and foremost, to save valuable time, many travelers use cars. Waiting for buses or trains is a common scenario in many countries which means that one has to waste a lot of time to reach his destination. Sometimes situation is worse during office hours than normal hours. For example, in India, passengers have to wait for more than thirty minutes at the bus station to get their desired bus at 8.30 am whereas at 10.00 am, they have to wait for fifteen to twenty minutes to have their bus. Because cars function as a time-saver, people prefer to have it.

Second reason for using car is comfort. Reservation of seats is not always possible in a public transport. After long working hours, it is really very uncomfortable. This type of situation is very common in Sri Lanka. The person who owns a car, he does not need to face this kind of difficulties. Therefore people always like to travel by cars.

Under this circumstances, to motivate people to use public transport, government needs to take some initiatives which is different. Firstly, “Yearly Income Tax Remission” project could be a good initiative. In the countries like USA, UK, Canada, this type of project is successfully implemented. If a person regularly travels by buses or trains, he can avail this opportunity. Another initiative might be effective is “Car Free Day” project. One day or two days in a week, the street will be car free so that people will be inspired to use public transport.

In conclusion, the essay discussed the reasons of using cars ignoring public transport. In my opinion, to save time and to have a comfortable journey, people are doing this. Government could change the situation by introducing projects like “Yearly Income Tax Remission”, “Car Free Day” etc.