Many people prefer to travel by car rather than buses or trains.

Why do you think this happens?

What can government do to motivate people travel by buses or trains?

It is true that countless people give priority to move by car rather than by buses or trains. In my opinion, hassle-free movement and social status can be the prime reasons for this situation and government could control this situation by offering different kinds of facilities.

Citizens of many countries prefer to have a car as a mode of transportation. Primarily, having a personal vehicle makes the movement very comfortable as the user does not need to wait for others. I think this type of opportunity ensures stress-free travel as well. In a medical emergency, for example, the person who has a private a car, he would be able to go to the hospital quickly than others. Furthermore, a car has a brand value to uphold the social status of its owner. So the advantages of traveling by a car cannot be denied.

The government of a country has many options to encourage its citizens to use public transport. The privilege of having an income tax reduction could be a better option. If a person moves by bus or train, he will get some concession at the time of submitting yearly income tax. Moreover, the introduction of family transportation card may be an effective way to inspire the general people. The owner of this card will have the opportunity to move at a cheap rate along with his family members. Finally, the offer of comfortable local transportation can minimize the usage of private cars.

In conclusion, although many people are interested to use cars instead of buses or trains, I think, comfort and social position are the major reasons for it. If the government can introduce privileges like income tax reduction or family transportation card system, the situation will be different.