Many people say the gap between rich and poor people is widening as rich people become richer and poor people grow poorer. What problems could this situation cause and what measures can be taken to address those problems?

Once the world progresses, the gap between the two classes in society becomes wider and wider because the rich are wealthier and the poor are living on the breadline. Subsequently, various impacts are caused by income inequality, and some suggestions to alleviate this circumstance will be substantiated in the following essay.

Wealth concentration within a handful of individuals or institutions might result in two major issues. First and foremost, it leads our society to become the breeding ground for social unrest and political instability. Those who live in poverty may suppose it would be unfair in many aspects of life when compared to the rich. For example, the wealthy could be a principal force of hindrance to their occupational and service opportunities, whereas the poor do not receive any chances to overcome hardship. Secondly, the serious issue that has gained concern among humans is the crime rate. As poverty restricts the capacity of the underprivileged to access services and other life-sustaining necessities such as electricity bills, tuition fees, living costs, food consumption, etc., As a result, they intend to resort to violence and opt for the life of criminals.

To narrow this gap in the walks of life, there are several initiatives to reduce the unfairness caused by economic inequality, including progressive taxation and minimizing the costs for the poor in daily life. For example, the products that are bought by the rich should be levied a tax, which could lower the amount of inequality in society. On the other hand, the authorities had better invest the budget to supply the free services and products as well for those struggling to make a living. Although it cannot be denied that the current system places much importance on individual competence to determine the amount of money one might earn, the unskilled workforce, who are usually from the lower class, should be provided enough to live sufficiently.

In conclusion, chaos and the acceleration of crime rates are the two severe repercussions of the unequal distribution of wealth; and governments could impose heavy taxes on the rich and raise the minimum amount of salary for the disadvantaged.