The spread of home working is opening up a new range of possibilities for the way businesses can work and structure themselves. Having necessary equipment for home working brings new responsibilities as well as opportunities and benefits for both employees and employers. With increasing number of employees working at home, includes both advantages and disadvantages, which I shall discuss further in this essay.

To start off, Working at home - or using home as a working base for at least part of the week - shows that there are numerous benefits for business. For instance, there would be substantial staff motivation with reduce stress and sickness levels which will help them for better work/life balance. In addition, Employers also have financial benefits by savings cost on office space and other facilities. Home working is considered helpful for both employers and employees to gain higher performance and productivity.

On the other hand, there are some considerable disadvantages associated with working at home for both the parties. For example, there would be difficulty in monitoring performance and issues related to it. Risk of Information theft is also a big issue in home working process. Additionally, there could be more communication cost and decrease staff morale for both of them. Sometimes, this menace would led a great loss for employers.

By hammering the final nail, I pen down by saying that a shift towards home working does not mean employees have to work only at home. Though, often splitting time between home and the workplace is the most productive solution.