Many people today use their mobile phones for sending texts more than talking. What are the reasons for this? Are there more advantages than disadvantages?

It is true that short message service(SMS) is trending in society, and people have made it a modern way of communication. In my view, there are two main reasons for this growing trend, and I believe it has more disadvantages than the advantages.

Perhaps the most obvious benefit of sending text messages using mobile phones is that people convey their message in a short and precise way. Unlike audio calling, it reduces the unnecessary talking time, because people have to put some efforts in writing a message. Secondly, these text messages are less expensive than audio or video calls. Therefore, people are adopting this medium for daily communication purposes.

Despite the above-mentioned advantages, I see it disadvantageous for society due to various reasons. One key factor is the road accidents caused by drivers while writing a text message, during driving the car. Because writing a message requires great attention, when a driver deviates his focus from the road to his phone, it turns in to the unfortunate event. Another reason is that in most of the situations where people lack in writing skills, the written text fails to convey the real message to the receiver. This may cause various misunderstanding and grievances among people. Moreover, this trend has developed various short informal acronyms for modern communication. For example, for asking age, sex and location they use ASL, or lot of laugh as "LOL". These terms often become hard to understand for old aged people and for those who have the least idea about modern technologies and its norms of conversation.

In conclusion, text messages have both benefits and drawbacks, but in my view, its disadvantages have more serious effects on society then its advantages.