Many people try to look younger than they really are. For what reasons do you think people try to look younger than they are? Is it a good thing or a bad thing?

Aging is a biological process, and it is natural for every living thing to age. However, humans tend to defy the natural progression and try to look younger than their actual biological age. In fact, there are many reasons for this human quest and the effects of it can be both positive and negative on individuals and on our society in general.

One of the main reasons for the desire to look young may be to maintain attractive viability, self-esteem and subjective well-being. This tend to create mindset that “young is beautiful” and hence the race to look young. Today, the cosmetic industry for example is not limited to skin care products such as creams but have facelift stickers that can instantly lift the look to make a women look younger than her real age. As a result, people can overcome ageing and look younger.

On the other hand, technology has made it possible to shave a decade or two by cosmetic interventions procedures. This has consequences in terms of health if stretched too far. Also the procedures aren’t cheap for many. For instance, famous influencer Joselyn Cano died at the age of 30 after botched surgery. The pursuit to look younger by surgery may work for some but it can be dangerous too.

In conclusion, humans are not limited to evolution needs of just adapting and reproducing, many believe in perceived attractiveness in looking young. It can be a good thing to boost confidence by using makeup or changing the hair colour or injecting Botox. However, the negative health implications cannot be ignored. In my opinion, it is important to understand that ageing is a natural process and accept the growing process that comes with aging.