Many people want their country to host an international sporting event. Others believe that international sporting events bring more problems than benefits. Discuss both views and state your opinion.

Competition of hosting international games has emerged significantly and every nation wishes to have such events in their country. Not everyone, however, believes that expenditures involves in organizing multinational events is worthwhile. In my opinion, it is true that international sports require a massive amount of investment and perhaps it cannot be afforded by every country.

The main reason against hosting international sporting event is finance that would be required in millions of dollars to construct stadiums and infrastructure so that it can cater for the athletes and the spectators. It is argued, this amount would be better utilized for the welfare and education programs that grant direct support to the needy people. Certainly, several Governments have incurred a large amount on organizing Olympic Games that resulted in a reduced budget of social programs. For example, last year, Olympic Games were hosted by Brazil which is an under develop country and for organizing that event the Government had to allocate a significant amount for construction of stadiums and infrastructure by reducing budget for other social projects.

On the other side, there are some merits in this argument that hosting international sporting events does also bring benefits as well. First is the honor and prestige that it brings to the host country as it will be the centre of the sporting globe during the period of the event that cannot be measure in price. Secondly, if organizing bodies plan carefully, they can use this event for the development of rural areas by constructing houses for athletes that can be transformed into public housing and stadiums that can be used to build sporting legacy for future generations.

In conclusion, my own view is that though, it is an honor to host an international sporting event but it should not be staged by any country without having sufficient funds for such events and Government should ensure that other social and welfare projects would not be affected.