Many people want their country to host an international sporting event. Others believe that international sporting events bring more problems than benefits. Discuss both views and state your opinion.

In this era of global connectivity international sporting events are gaining huge popularity. many people believe hosting a global sporting event brings many benefits than drawbacks. I find this topic contentious and will elucidate with relevant examples and finally conclude it with my opinion.

First and foremost it a matter of great pride for any country to host a global tournament as it provides visibility to the host country on a global map but additionally also brings plethora of business and employment opportunities. To elucidate further in the recent past many smaller nations like Bangladesh, Singapore and Srilanka hosted major sporting events like football and cricket world cup which helped in creating new jobs in hospitality sector. additionally it also aided in generating revenue which was further used for the development of that nation.

Secondly on the other hand hosting international sporting events also puts a country under a lot of pressure as the government needs to make sure of the security arrangement for the tourists as well as players from other countries. A lapse in the security can bring a negative outlook for that country which further impacts the future hosting prospects. In the recent past Srilankan team was attacked by terrorists when they visited pakistan for an international cricket series thus affecting the prospects of pakistan to host any international matches for nearly a decade. this further impacted there cricket Association as they could not generate any revenue from the domestic market.

To sum up it is evident that though there are some drawbacks for hosting global sporting events but the benefits clearly offset the downside thus in my opinion international sporting events brings many advantages which are better for the growth and development of that nation.