Many people like to wear fashionable clothes. Why do you think this is the case? Is this a good thing or a bad thing?

From the dawn of civilization, people in position of power and wielding influence over others, have adorned clothes and accessories that were specifically designed for them. This also gave their personality an aura that was indistinguishable. Excavations of pyramids of kings and masses have revealed this distinction. Till about the middle of the 20th century, this was limited to a select few but it has now, especially starting the late 20th century and early 21st century, become stronger.

Trendy clothes are expensive and by wearing them, people are able to make a silent statement about the wealth they possess. The type of clothes we wear, often impact our personality and appearance. With higher disposable incomes and greater social outreach, people want to look attractive and confident at all times. The materialistic society that we have now evolved into, gives respect to the person based on his dressing style than on his education and life principles.

Wearing of fashionable clothes has become so entrenched in our society that in many public places such as clubs, restaurants, theaters, etc., restrict or bar entry to persons not dressed in a specific attire. I feel this is now a curse than a boon. Many young people, due to peer competition of wanting to look attractive at all times, end up borrowing money or at times retort to stealing and get involved in other unlawful activities. This is disastrous for the society as it will become superficial with scant regard for any values and principles.