Many people work long hours, leaving very little time for leisure activities. Does this situation have more advantages or more disadvantages?

Most people have a tight schedule, they work too much and sometimes they are stuck behind a desk the whole day. Also, they do not have sufficient time for spending on their hobbies. In this case, most people believe they become workaholic and they face health problems. However, some people think they are more likely to get a promotion in their jobs on a regular basis and they might have a sense of achievement.

On the one hand, working too much without having fun has several disadvantages. Firstly, people who work long hours lead a sedentary lifestyle. Therefore, they are very likely to suffer from spinal problems. Meanwhile, they might stay up through the night so as to work more. Consequently, they are prone to sleep deprivation. Secondly, since this kind of people spend whole time on work, they are less likely to have a sensible eating plan. Thus, they might indulge in fast and fatty food and their poor diet leads to several health problems such as food poisoning and indigestion.

On the other hand, working long hours has various advantages. Firstly, as a result of working too much, people are more likely to get a raise on a yearly basis. Therefore, they might find their job fulfilling. It can play a vital role on advancement in society. Secondly, individuals who work full time might have a lucrative career. Since they do not spend their money for leisure activities, they are rich. It can bring a sense of satisfaction in their life. Thirdly, working too much results in experienced and skilled workforce. It is decisive factor in achieving companies’ goals. Thus, this kind of people have great career opportunities.

To conclusion, from my point of view, people work in order to have better life. Therefore, they should enjoy their life and leisure activities because having hobbies bring positive energy to work efficiently.