In many places, new homes are needed, but the only space available for building them is in the countryside. Some people believe it is more important to protect the countryside and not build new homes there.

Urbanization is a contentious issue. While some people think that developing the rural area is the only choice for establishing new residential area, I believe that it is better to leave the countryside intact.

Building a new residential area in the suburbs causes egregious consequence on the food supply for the city. Developing the rural area means dwindling of the land used for an agricultural purpose where crops and farm animals are produced and raised. Farmers and animals need to relocate to new farmland. Some farmers may find themselves hard to adapt to the soil conditions and weather in the new place and as a result of poor harvest. To illustrate, in 2014 the Daily Mail reported that in Australia, the use of farmland for building purpose caused wheat price to skyrocket as the production halved. This forced Australia to import wheat at a higher price in order to satisfy the needs of the public.

Apart from causing food shortage, expending residence to countryside leads to environmental problems. To begin with, inevitably, a huge area of forest will be destroyed. Trees act as natural barriers, if it is cut down, the city, in the short term, will lose the protection from frigid winter winds. In the medium term, topsoil is not held by roots of trees and causing topsoil erosion, and finally, major floods. In fact, there have been more and more reports on serious flooding every year in the news due to urbanization. In the long run, there will be fewer clouds and rainfalls will become a rarity as the amount of water in soil absorbed and released by evapotranspiration by trees is reduced. For this reason, there will be a widespread of drought.

In sum, the conservation of the countryside is vital for human survival. Building new homes in rural areas cause detrimental effects on society.