In many places, new homes are needed, but the only space available for building them is in the countryside. Some people believe it is more important to protect the countryside and not build new homes there. What is your opinion?

The last few years, have witnessed a lot of building work in the country side, especially for houses. While some are of the view that the countryside needs to be protected the others feel there is no way out of this. In this essay we shall discuss why it is advantageous to move the new construction to the suburbs instead of within the cities.

The exponential surge in the population levels throughout the world has led to a need for more homes to be built in order to provide shelter to the people. The developed cities have already been so jammed and packed that there is no space available to accommodate more people there and the situation is bound to grow worse if we tried adjusting them. Traffic jams are a usual phenomenon for the city residents. For instance, recently a study was conducted by Time of India, which showed that on an average a working class individual spends about 48 hours per month stuck in traffic which is a sheer wastage of time that instead could have been employed on other productive activities.

Also, the fact that if this shift does not happen, the pollution levels will not take very long to breach the safety standards ultimately resulting in increased propagation of several non curable diseases can absolutely be ignored. Previous winters, Delhi witnessed the worst smog it had ever seen majorly because of increased air pollutants. People were forced to wear masks so as ensure they don't breathe in the toxins. There’s no doubt that if no corrective measures are taken and people don’t start inhabiting in neighbouring areas episodes of asthmatic and bronchial problems will soar.

As has been discussed in this essay, if we don’t commence setting up homes in the country side and restricted their development to the cities alone, the problems of congestion is bound to rise and the city inhabitants may develop diseases owing to higher pollution. Therefore, in my opinion, this shift is inevitable and we should accepted it before it gets too late.