In many places, new homes are needed, but the only space available for building them is in the countryside. Some people believe it is more important to protect the countryside and not build new homes there. What is your opinion?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Write at least 250 words.

With growing population, the housing requirements are also increasing. People settle in urban areas due to better job and academic opportunities. As a result, there is no space left to build new homes in urban areas. The only space available is in the countryside. In this essay, we will debate about why there is a need to protect the countryside and restrain ourselves from building any new houses there.

First, let us discuss about why there is an increase in new homes. Along with an awareness about acquiring quality education, students have started to move out to different cities. When I did my masters, almost 60% of students from my batch had come from different cities. These students normally rent houses instead of staying in college hostels which are usually very costly. Similarly, many people move to different cities in search of good jobs and gradually settle there. As a result, there is increasing demand for building new houses but with no space left in urban areas. Hence, people are shifting to nearby countryside in search of new homes.

According to my opinion, we should protect the countryside from this urbanisation. If we start building new houses at countryside, there will be a day when there would be no difference in urban and rural areas. There are number of adverse effects due to this. Firstly, the calmness and the purity in climate would be lost. There would not be a day out at the countryside for peace. Secondly, urbanisation brings with itself crowd, pollution and stress. For instance, the place where I live was also a countryside once. But, since it is nearby to a big metropolitan city, it lost its beauty, greenery and quietness in only a few decades. Lastly, global warming is one of the major issue that cities tolerate. We should at least try to protect our rural areas from it.

Hence, to conclude, it is extremely important to protect our today’s rural from becoming tomorrow’s urban. We should preserve the countryside, so that even the future generations can experience the serene nature and innocence that countryside offer.