In many places, new homes are needed, but the only space available for building them is in the countryside. Some people believe it is more important to protect the countryside and not build new homes there. What is your opinion?

There are people who argue that cities are crowded and the only way to grow space is to build homes in the suburbs while others opine that we need to safe guard the outskirts of the city. I completely agree that we need to sustain the culture and diversity of the suburbs.

Firstly, the food that we consume is grown in the countryside. Farmers have been cultivating food and cattle in these places for many decades. It is important to maintain these food zones as if we fall short of cultivable land, there is not any alternative. For instance, taking the current rate at which the population is growing, the scientists found that we would be short of 30% of farm land by next decade. Consequently, we would not be able to meet the needs of urban as well as rural population. Additionally, overcrowding these areas would subject them to hiked air and water pollution. As a result, the quality of the food produced degrades which in turn effects the quality of life.

Secondly, the suburbs are known to be peaceful and ecological places. With the advent of urban population, these places will no longer be habitat for different animal species. For instance, we no longer see birds that chirp, and animals that live in harmony with the humans in the cosmopolitan cities as they are nothing but concrete jungles. Consequently, building homes in the rural areas pose a greater risk to the biodiversity of these places.

In conclusion, we should uphold the diversity and ecology of the suburbs and not disturb them with urbanization. Given the situation, if we preserve the countryside, we would be able to feed the urban life.