In many places, new homes are needed, but the only space available for building them is in the countryside. Some people believe it is more important to protect the countryside and not build new homes there. What is your opinion?

Presently, new habitats are essential to be built for the growing population in many places of the world, but scarcity of lands for constructing them prevents the establishment of new buildings in the urban areas. Hence, many suggest to construct them in the rural areas. However it’s a controversial issue which creates great discordance among people.

The opponent of spreading organisation to the rural areas state that it would bring catastrophic effects to the natural ecosystem of that particular areas. The most egregious consequences will be happened when, many other infrastructures that necessarily follow human settlement like roads, sanitation networks, power lines would be established. These types of engineering works would definitely deplete the biome of the ponds, rivers and forests of adjacent regions. As an inevitable consequence of it, the indigenous species would migrate or become extinct. Moreover, there is a good chance of these deleterious effects to be aggravated day by day as the number of the settlers grows. Even though the arguments of the environmentalist make sense but they are even though the arguments of the environmental is make sense but there are plethora of tangible ideas justifying the occupation of rural areas for urbanization.

First of all, modern people are more aware about the environment, and during urbanization the experts use to spare a significant portion of spaces intended to be used as parks or some other open places to move around. Besides serving as the sanctuary for the wild spaces these types of free spaces help the city dwellers to become relaxed. It could be best exemplified by the city of Dhaka where I live, has a large island in between parts of the city which is mostly covered by trees and remained unoccupied, being a nice counterpart of the overly populated nearby districts.

In conclusion, I would like to stress that while the environmentalists have many valuable points against spreading the urbanization to the countryside, the situation is not as dire as they portray it, and coexistence of human being with nature is quite possible.