Many people say that we now live in ‘consumer societies’ where money and possessions are given too much importance. Others believe that consumer culture has played a vital role in improving our lives. Discuss both views and give your opinion

The assertion that consumerism plays a vital role for our improvement seems to me constitute a fundamental confusion/misunderstanding about this issue. Whether to agree or not is a thought- provoking question. Personally. I, like many others, tend to totally agree with the viewpoint that consumerism plays a vital role for our improvement.

The opponents of the argument clearly put the point forward that it tends to be resource hungry and puts more and more pressure on it. This might be true to some extent. However, I think that consumerism helps job sector by creating new jobs. To emphasise this view let us consider a situation, when people want to consume a product frequently, the manufacturers ensure this by employing more when people employees.

People who believe that consumerism is not important usually mention that this train creates is that not only destroys our environment, but also has bad effects on our heath. This also may be true. But I think it improves the quality of citizen’s life and reduces the poverty of the society.

Apart from the above-mentioned reasons, the opponents of the viewpoint may also claim that money is not the only factor of happiness and paying attention to gain money only may lead to serious consequences. This also seems true with an one eyed view. But I think consumerism helps and encourages creativity in business. Because the employee will do their best to be creative to earn more and more money.

In conclusion, let me recapitulate the main points of my argument. I think consumerism plays a vital role for our improvement because of new jobs, quality of citizen's life and creativity in business. Although obviously not every single issue related to this argument has been discussed.