Many small, local shops are closing as they are unable to compete with the large supermarkets in the area. How does this effect local communities? How could this situation be improved?

Due to urbanization, large shopping complexes and supermarkets are emerging in abundance throughout the world. This development has led to the shut down of numerous small shops because of their incompetence to provide the products to consumers at one designated place. In this essay, I shall discuss the impact of supermarkets on local businesses and their owners followed by the optimum solutions to deal with its repercussions.

To begin with, several local people whose bread and butter depend upon their store earnings have to face poverty, which would affect the economy of the nation. This is because their source of income would get devastated and they could no longer earn their livelihood. Take local bakery shops, for example, the alleviating customers at such outlets would not only result in wastage of food but also the workers who are employed there would lose their jobs. Moreover, to counter unemployment, skilled workers would relocate to urban areas and big cities. This, in turn, increases the population in some particular areas and eventually causing various environmental as well as socioeconomic issues. Seen in this light, the construction of supermarkets has an adverse effect on local people and their living standards.

However, combined efforts by the government and the organizations that are responsible for running the big grocery shops or malls and their management. In other words, the supermarkets must consider buying items for their customers from local markets and small businesses, therefore providing them an income source. In this way, it would benefit the domestic communities as well as their customer, i.e. large shopping complexes, because of their better understanding of local consumers and their demands. Furthermore, the governments should also ensure to restrict the development of supermarkets in the area where small shops are sufficient to fulfill consumer needs.

In conclusion, the proliferated construction of large shopping stores has certain demerits for the local communities which include unemployment and ameliorated relocation to other cities with more opportunities. In the future, the incorporation of both small and large markets and the sanctioning of required regulations by the government could help in improving these problems.