In many societies, elderly people often live in retirement homes. This is not appropriate because families should always care for their ageing members.

Do you agree or disagree with the above statement?

Aging population constitute to 35 percent of the world's population and the life expectancy rate is gradually raising to 75 with technological and medical advances. These changes are prompting for increased number of retirement facilities and proportionately increasing elders being left to live at these centres. I strongly condemn the notion of retirees living in rest homes and agree that families are responsible for their care at final phases of life.

One cannot deny that parents and grandparents played a pivotal role in shaping our lives. They provided the much-needed educational and medical care while we were growing up as children to adulthood. Would we be in the social status what we are in now or would we be having the benefits that we are enjoying now without them? Absolutely not. This is the time we payback for their deeds and sacrifices. Abandoning them at rest houses is one of the cruel things what an individual can impose to pensioners.

However for serveral reasons, many people place elders in rest homes. Either due to busy and gruelling work schedules or small places to live or due to financial burden old people are sent to old folks' home. But if we can look at the brighter side of elders living with family, they form the basis of the strong bond among the family members. In the current era, most of the families have working parents which leaves the adolescents unattended. This could lead youngsters stray away their path and easily be vulnerable to harmful, toxic and bullying influences in the society. If children are under golden-agers supervision at home, they cultivate good behaviour and inculcate decent habits which eventually leads to successful and respectful future. Children also learn the importance of family ties, love and compassion with this sort of upbringing. So, elders spending with families is crucial for benefitting society and not at old age homes.

Therefore, old people should unconditionally be loved by the families and should not be placed old age homes not just as a token of gratitude to the life or society they gifted us and our offsprings but also they truly deserve the love and affection.