Many of the world’s cities are currently facing a serious housing shortage.

What are some of the reasons for this shortage and what solutions can you suggest?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays, a lot of cities around the world are suffering from a deficiency of houses. Many causes could lead to that panic problem. Increased population and the presence of facilities are the most important factors. Rather than the aged causes, solutions are to emerge from both the individual and the governmental aspects.

Firstly, for most of these cities, One can easily notice they have something in common. It is the high number of population. That actually makes these cities crowded to an extent of making houses are teeming with people. A good example of that is Cairo, the capital of Egypt, according to the last census done in 2016. The total number of inhabitants in Cairo exceeds its record of 25 million. Such a governmental burden, make it is too tough to allocate budget for housing projects publically. So shortage will be unveiled.

Secondly, the facilities availability is another crucial factor. As soon as more facilities are nearer to the houses, so the attraction to these areas will be increased. People tend to have all of their desired services to be near from home. For instance, gas station, supermarkets, and schools are unavoidable services needed for any family. That reflects into making the old places, or commonly known as the midtown, of any city to be highly crowded.

Furthermore, other factors and causes could be easily distinguished by the specialists.

From my humble opinion, solutions are the responsibility of both individuals as well as the governments. Young people should steer clear of being attached to the main cities and inspect for new opportunities in new cities. These new cities should have the minimum requirements of good quality of life. Absolutely, it is a mission done previously by the government. In order to construct new cities to be equipped with suitable services and facilites. This will help the new generations to relocate to new places, and decrease the push on main old cities.

To conclude, Housing shortage is an alarming problem that is spread in most cities worldwise, causes are not limited to population increase or absence of facilities in newly expanded areas, but also the solutions are beneath. Hand in hand, people with the government could change this willingly. I hope to find these solutions applicable in the nearest possible future.