Measures have been put in place to improve road safety by reducing the speed limits.

Some people believe there are better alternatives. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Road safety has now become a crucial issue, owing to the surge in vehicles on roads. According to some people reduction of speed limits is the best way to impose safety on the roads while others assert that many other approaches exist to tackle this problem. This essay will discuss both views, including my opinion, that stringent penalities for abiding traffic rules and training for acquiring driving licence are more effective measures than only limiting speed, in order to alleviate this menace.

On the one hand, people believe that defining rules for acceleration at various places can protect the public from road rages and accidents. In other words, the imposition of speed limit such as 20-30 kmph in front of the school and residential areas, 60-70 kmph on highways can lead to the reduction in over-speeding, which, in turn, reduce the number of accidents. For instance, according to a report by The Hindu, 40% of fatal accidents happening on Indian roads is due to fast driving. Thus, considering the detrimental effects of over-speeding, this approach is an effective measure.

On the other hand, there are a plethora of other measures that can play an indispensable role in providing protection to citizens on the roads. Firstly, there should be the enforcement of strict rules and regulations for the driving such as wearing the helmet and obeying the traffic signals. Further, if any person does not abide by the rules, penalties should be charged to them that will obstruct them to repeat. Secondly, in order to acquire a driving licence, learning the driving skills and passing the driving test should become mandatory for every citizen. Consequently, these measures will lead to an increase in learned drivers on roads which will lower the rate of road casualties.

In conclusion, although reducing speed limits can provide road safety to some extent, in my opinion, the strictness of traffic laws and the knowledge of safety measures is more important to achieve protection on roads. Therefore, it is the responsibility of an individual to abide by the laws to make driving safe.