Modern communications mean that it’s no longer necessary to write letters.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Connecting people using advanced technology are becoming more and more pervasive in modern world. It has numerous advantages compared to the old handwriting. I totally agree with the idea that it will soon replace the traditional means of communication.

Firstly, internet breakthroughs facilitate us in every aspect of daily lives, either work or personal. Employees of a multi-national company can immediately contact their colleagues through making phone calls or writing e-mails. Otherwise, they need to spend huge amount of time exchanging information among others. Time is minimized to the lowest level, enables a more effective working productivity. With regards to daily life, reaching our beloved ones has never been easier. Viber, a free application, is designed to support everyone to text or ring anyone by just a click. Therefore, I can make calls to my sister in Toronto anytime at no extra cost.

Secondly, modern technology advances by how all the data is stored and tracked. We can save and look up everything we want as long as we connect to the online network. Google drive is an absolutely incredible tool to support Gmail users to archive and back up their personal information like photos, email… I can easily find my pictures taken 5 years ago which were automatically stored in an application called Google photo, although I already deleted them in my mobile phone.

To sum up, letters in paper have existed for thousands of years but given recent development, modern communication using the internet dominates as an effective tool of connecting people, ideas.