Modern communications mean that it’s no longer necessary to write letters.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Technology has rapidly increased in today's world. Due to more inventions in the technology, people have started depending on alternative ways of communication which have reduced the necessity of writing letters to communicate. To a large extent, I agree with the following statement which would be briefly explained in my further essay.

Firstly, globalisation has increased in fast-pace which has led people to explore more around the world. Infact, the community has started expecting to want to know about the daily whereabouts of what is happening in the other parts of the world. To obtain this information immediately, a plethora of modern communication media have sprung for instance mass media, social media and mobile phone applications. For example, if a person is staying in India and would want to know the whereabouts of his/her family abroad, he would use a mobile phone application like Whatsapp or Facetime to get in touch with them at that particular moment. This would save their time as well.

Secondly, although writing letters has been an old traditional method, it has affected the environment in a negative way. To write a letter, the sender has to use paper as a resource which was produced by cutting down of the trees and harming our environment. Since the growth in modern communications has lessened the use of papers due to which many blocks of wood have been saved and there is no loss of habitat of the wild. To state an example, during the olden times, the community used telegram or posted letters to communicate with someone. However, the resources used was derived from chopping down the greeneries around because of which led to an increase in the carbon footprint, in turn, was harming the ecosystem.

In conclusion, the growth in modern ways of communication has helped society to look forward to a better future while saving on time, energy and lowering the use of natural resources.