Recently, abortion increases rapidly and becomes a controversial topic. Some people suppose that abortion should be legal while others are against it.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Abortion has been a topic of much debate ever since medical technology has enabled the ease of getting one. In recent times, abortion has drastically increased and casued an unprecented uproad among religious communities. I am of the view that abortion should be legal as it empowers women and gives them full control of something as significant as bringing a child into the world.

Childbirth is considered a sacred act by many religious groups. A new life is indeed a miracle and abortion stands in stark contrast of this. While there are many reasons for a woman to opt for abortions, some of them being medical and necessary. But none of them concerns anyone outside herself and in some cases her partner.

There is no doubt that being a parent is a substantial responsibility. It requires parents to make huge compromises well until the child is an adult. In addition, it requires tremendous mental, emotional, physical and financial resources right when the child is born so it can be raised to be happy and healthy.

The religious view does not take this into consideration when advocating making abortion illegal. Millions of children suffer every year because their teen mother was barred from getting an abortion. In the US, thousands suffer in the foster care system and are separated from their siblings. Many live in abyssmal conditions, neglected and abused, something that no child should have to suffer.

This is not to say that abortion is the only answer. If those advocating against abortion can promise new mothers support right from neonatal care to college education, abortions may become less frequent. This should be a basic right regardless of the legal status of abortions.

On the other hand, women should be able to have the agency to decide if they want to have a baby. Their body, health, well-being, future and that of the child is solely dependent on this decision. Hence, it is their right to decide what is best for them first and foremost.