Modern cultures around the world have become similar as compared to the past. What are the main reasons for it? Is it a positive or negative development?

Unlike bygone days, the formity in conventional customs and cultural background can be seen globally, and the prime reason for this development is globalization. While this trend has contributed favourably towards the nation's economy and businesses, there are a few downsides as well.

The world has become a global village, and the advancement in communication, transportation and public industries has paved the way for international tourism on a larger scale. Having mentioned that in order to make the local environment more friendly to visitors, many countries are blending diverse traditions that include dance, music and food, with their native cultural programs. This approach is an effective way to tantalize international tourists, which in-turn generates several employment opportunities for local people. For instance, in Thailand, there are myriad of multi-cuisine restaurants and cultural shows representing diverse cultural background, allures thousands of people from different countries each year.

On the flip-side, it appears that in the race of globalization, people are neglecting their own heritage and beliefs. As a result, many native languages and customs are on the surge of extinction. Even the new generation is entirely detached from the inheritance roots. To cite an example, In India, the impact of western culture and lifestyle is quite visible, and speaking English has become a symbol of literacy level.

To conclude, the mixture of traditions and cultural pursuits is a result of internationalization, which has a prominent contribution in boosting the economy of the manifold of nations. Not only this but also, cultural similarity brought people from the faraway places together and share their beliefs.