In the modern world, it is no longer necessary to use animal as food or to use animal products, for example, clothing and medicines.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In this day and age, it is believed that there are more alternatives to animal-based products for people to serve their lives. In my opinion, I completely agree with this view on account of several reasons below.

First, I am convinced that people can live on fruits and vegetables without slaughtering animals for meat. According to medical experts, a plant-based diet can supply as sufficient nutrients for long-term health benefits as an animal-based diet can do. Eating nutrient-dense whole foods like fruits, vegetables, and whole grains compensate for potential deficiencies caused by cutting meat. The low amount of fat and the antioxidant substance in plant foods mitigate the risks of several diseases such as obesity, stroke, or heart attack. For this reason, people can maintain their health and expand their longevity, although they reduce animal protein intakes.

Second, I argue that medical experiments on animals and clothes manufactured from animals’ body parts should also be widely discouraged. In fact, there is no need to cause pain and suffering to animals when sophisticated computer systems, mathematical models, human tissue and cell cultures and more focused clinical studies can also show us what happens to our bodies during disease. Besides that, some natural plants such as ginger and ginseng can be used in curing illnesses instead of medicine to partly reduce unnecessary experiments on animals. In terms of clothing, manufacturers can replace fur or limbs by artificial materials and synthesized fabric to produce fashionable items. This helps to reassure the development of the fashion industry without violating animal rights.

In conclusion, people do not kill or harm other animal species to meet their needs. Instead, they can exploit the modern advances of technology, artificial materials and plant-based foods as alternatives for their lives to lessen the suffering of animals.