More and more colleges and universities are offering courses via distance learning. Distance learning has many benefits, but there are also drawbacks, and not every learner will be suited to this mode of study.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Virtual learning is the latest trend in modern day education, and with more and more courses are being offered by universities worldwide. The medium of the internet when treated as a learning tool has created many opportunities throughout the globe. But like every other trend or advancement, this distance learning has both the pros and cons associated with itself. But all of this needs a basic requirement whether the person is actually capable or focused enough to take this path.

First of all, out of the many advantages that distance learning can have, a few of them may include the time flexibility as the learner can adjust the classes and schedule upon the availability. Also, every student learns at their own individual pace, Moreover, the best part of distance learning is that one can have the access to all the course contents and can read or view them at any time. However, few of the disadvantages include confined learning and less opportunity for instant feedback. Not only is that but the technological breakdowns also a major hindrance in distance learning.

Furthermore, the other factor to consider is the ability of a learner to cope up with the distant learning requirements. A few aspects that need to be considered can include the level of self-motivation, and dedication towards learning because distant learning requires a lot of self-motivation as there will not be anyone to force or monitor the progress. However, this can be worked out only if a good learning environment is provided and the things are well organized.

Taking everything into consideration, distance learning is more based upon the learner’s capability because despite having so many benefits, one cannot totally achieve them unless the person is fully capable of taking those courses and study through that particular medium.