It is undoubtedly true that nowadays media is paying more attention to the lives of the celebrity than ever before. This may raise the profit of news agencies, but often society faces several negative consequences. In this essay, I will explain few of the reason behind this phenomenon and also illustrates some drawbacks of it.

Psychology, most of the people, are not strong enough to be self-confident and want to become popular among others. Consequently, we follow those people who are already popular, and consider them as an ideal for their life. Considering this psychological weakness, the media industry has started to publish the news of famous peoples, in recent days. Besides, information is ubiquitously available, and anybody can post about anything through online, and therefore celebrities themselves create more publication to enhance their popularity.

As a result of these publications, we forget who we are in reality, and what is our primary need. The most significant drawback is that showing a celebrity as a superior makes us feel inferior. To overcome it, we spend money to copy their lifestyle; and as a consequence, we lost most of our valuable saving. For example, we can see how the luxurious travel industries and luxury fashion brands are booming and making profits. Secondly, most of us forget the poor who need our help and support. Instead of spending money for expensive dresses, we ignore it is more pleasurable to see a smile on others face. As we are getting more self-centred, our society is getting more fragmented.

In conclusion, the way media industries are using our psychological weakness to make the profit is leading to an undesirable society. I believe that news agencies should be responsible to the community and publish more good news, instead of stories about celebrities’ life.