More and more newspapers and news channels are using photographs to support their news articles and stories. Some people think photographs are not a reliable source of news while others consider photographs to be irrefutable. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Photographs plays an integral role in the paper and television media. It is the belief of few individuals, that images used in the newspaper are not authentic source to portray the message. Whilst others think their role in disseminating the news is indispensable. In my perception, pictorial presentation of news overweighs the textual content.

On the one hand, Undoubtly images attract the attention of audience. They provide the basic information about the news and it is easy to figure out the whole story behind it. In today’s world, we are bombarded with new stories every other minute. Due to limited time we can -not pay attention to all the news updates. Pictures make it easy for readers to filter the article .In a recent general awareness survey, it has been observed that 70% readers analyze the stories through the images. For example, I am a big fan of Amitabh Bachchan, I often go through the columns of newspaper whenever I saw his portrait.

On the other hand, the prime rationale to oppose the assertion could be the available facility to edit and mold the pictures by using photoshop and other multimedia tools. Unfortunately the authenticity of images that came across newspapers and the internet can- not be approved. In fact there are many instances when photos are morphed to taint the reputation of well-known personalities . As the consequences, this misleads the spectators at the first glance from the true facts. . Furthermore, in adverts related to tourism industry, the visuals of tourist places are made more lucrative than actual views. This deceives the believe of the viewers when they face the reality.

To summarize, I would like to say, pictorials plays pivotal role to attract the attention of readers. Photographs can tell a story more vividly and make it comprehensive as pictures speaks million words by their own.