For more and more people wearing fashionable clothes has become very important. Is this attitude toward wearing fashionable clothes a positive or negative development?

There is a growing proportion of the world’s population paying much attention to a fashionable style of dressing. This trend, in my opinion, can be seen both as beneficial and detrimental from different point of view.

On the one hand, there are two principal factors why people’s attaching importance on fashion brings some values to their country and themselves. Regarding society, the increasing demand for stylish clothes leads to the development of the garment industry. This, therefore, translates into generating an array of employment opportunities, ranging from tailors and designers to salespeople, contributing to the prosperity of the country. As for the consumers, individuals who are very concerned with fashion clothes find enjoyment from wearing those. According to recent research conducted in the UK, not only is buying clothing a hobby for most people but also being dressed in trendy wear lightens individuals’ mood.

On the other hand, to place much importance on consuming fashionable garments sparks some undesirable repercussions. Firstly, it stimulates consumerism which takes its toll on the environment. In fact, fashion is the most obvious example of built-in obsolescence, meaning that people feel compelled to buy new clothes as they are conditioned either commercially or socially. This results in annual production of tons of textile waste, mostly made of plastic, which will sit in landfills for more than two hundred years, causing grave harm to the environment. Secondly, if the majority of the world’s population follow on-trend clothing, it would be at the expense of traditional clothes. With particular costume of different nations fading away, there would be the worry of cultural assimilation, which is a widely-held concern of the twenty-first century.

In conclusion, an increasing number of people pay much heed to be dressed in fashion wear, which is advantageous and disadvantageous from different points of view.