Recently, the phenomenon of the ancient festivals and their corresponding impacts has sparked a long-running dispute among old-fashion and sophisticated people. In this regard, whereas some believe both ancient traditional and religious festivals have to be held based on their ancient cultures, others of the vantage point that the aim of taking part and holding these ceremonies play the most significant role, as human conduct and taste can alter over the years and decades. In my mind, culture alteration is inevitable due to the following compelling reasons.

It goes without saying that, dogmatic and narrow-minded characteristics are mostly the ones who support the idea of holding and taking part in festivals, based on what their kin did or instructed. In addition, there are always other groups who take a great deal of tangible or intangible benefits from traditional dictated conduct. To make it clear, pilgrims have to sacrifice a sheep annually. Thereby, creating a great market for butcheries and ranchers that are managed by the governmental sector in Iran.

On the other hand, due to the technological improvement many people ascent to a higher social stratum, that is not eager to associate with the lower traditional crust. To make an example, in the Arab region it is common that local people do not use spoons and forks while eating, especially in religious festivals. However, in the modern world, this kind of human behavior has a great contradiction with normative conduct. Pertinent to the aforementioned reason and example, in Iran mosques used to be fully carpeted and people could not enter the holy places with shoes. However, in recent years, the belief of religious people could align with citizens’ convenience. Since many cannot stand to sit on the ground for long hours.

To sum up, despite the compelling reasons of both sides of the argument, I opt to vigorously support the idea of being flexible and open to changes, not only regarding traditional festivals but also in other aspects of life. Therefore, we can enjoy the festivals in our way while keeping our history alive.