Most people have forgotten the meaning behind traditional or religious festivals; during festival periods, people nowadays only want to enjoy themselves.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Some people opine that we no longer remember the original meaning of festivals, and that these days, most of us treat them as opportunities to have fun. In my opinion, I disagree with the given statement that individuals have forgotten what these festivals mean as they are learnt both at school and at home.

To begin with, a school is a place where beneficial knowledge is imparted to people for their personal and community benefits. In Nigerian schools, children learn in detail as a course religious knowledge and they are taught the reasons for celebrating different religious festivals like Eid, Christmas and Easter. For example, last year during the Eid festival, children from my community performed a play telling the story of Prophet Abraham and his son. Similar behaviour can be seen during non-religious festivals such as the thanksgiving. This shows that festivals with religious content has not be forgotten.

In the same way, family as the smallest unit in the community has helped in safeguarding the underlying meaning of such festivals. They also play a vital role in passing knowledge of religious festivals and historical background’s importance and values on to the next generation. For instance, the Igbo from the Eastern part of Nigeria are known for their New Yam Festivals which they have been celebrating for the past century. This is achievable as a result of the stories learnt at an early age as a way of protecting their heritage.

In conclusion, in spite of the varying views, I believe that individuals are still aware of the reasons for celebrating festivals even though they mainly want to enjoy themselves during these celebrations.