The level of noise around us is constantly increasing, and is affecting the quality of our lives. What cause the noise? What should be done about it?

It is true that noise pollution is growing at an alarming rate, affecting the standard of living of human beings. The main reason for this is the transportation systems and a viable solution is to introduce credible alternatives to curb these problems.

Perhaps the most important reason for sound pollution is the increase in vehicle movement. This is because the number of cars on the road is increasing day by day and while they are especially in traffic congestion, they produce sound which is no less than a nuisance. Additionally, people living beside railway stations also have to put up with a lot of noise from horns, and engines of freight trains, thereby leading to discomfort, displeasure and sleep disruption. For instance, a state study in Illinois found those living near railroad stations, especially those with high traffic volume, to have several health conditions including hypertension, high stress levels, hearing loss and sleep disturbances.

Fortunately, however, there are some promising solutions to these problems. First of all, governments should invest more in cycle lanes to encourage people to use bicycles instead of cars. This would reduce the number of automobiles on the road and consequently lessen the noise. Taking London as an example, the local council has built cycle paths for their residents to encourage them cycle to work. Secondly, the responsible authorities could build a track system, that can be used to fasten the sides of the rail, to absorb vibrations and reduces noise generated as train wheels pass over them.

In conclusion, the major problem of noisy environment caused by transportation vehicles can be alleviated by the introduction of bike path and rail system.