. The level of noise around us is constantly increasing and is affecting the quality of our lives. what cause the noise. What should be done about it.

The constant unpleasant loud sound that is harmful to the ears is known as "Noise Pollution". The sky high levels of noise pollution not only have physiological effects but psychological effects on humans and other living beings . The issue of noise pollution has been increasing rapidly in the past few years due to extensive use of loud speakers for religious and ceremonial purposes. The other reason is the splurge in traffic over the roads in the past decade. This essay will discuss these causes and possible solutions for the same.

In the past the use of loudspeakers were limited to promoting a local event or to bring awareness among general public about a government initiative . However, nowadays in order to showoff oneself, loudspeakers are used regularly for any small event at home, by religious organizations and by political parties. The sound from loudspeakers interfere with the day to day life of people like children find it hard to focus on studies, adults find it hard to concentrate on their work and old people who are in need of peace for their health. Furthermore, the noise from traffic is muliplying year on year with the rapid increase in the motor vehicles on roads. The constant honking in traffic jams raises the irritation level among the commuters alongwith creating the other health issues.

Among the above mentioned reasons for great noise levels there are many other reasons that might not seem huge but contribute to the noise level in our surroundings. High TV volumes, loud noisy appliances, electricity generators are few such examples.

Nevertheless, there are many ways to limit the noise in the enviroment. It is the onus of government to put a limit on the sound from loudspeakers and should also make laws that curb the use of loudspeakers for every small and big local events. The people should also understand that singing and shouting on loudspeakers will not solely spread their religious messages. Moreover, it is about practicing the teachings of a religion that makes it popular.

To reduce the noise from traffic sound absorbers can be installed alongside the roads. Planting trees alongside the roads is also an option and it is enviroment friendly as well. Plants and trees not only absorb sound but also help in reducing the air pollution levels. Similarly, small but effective measures can also be taken at individual level to prevent onself and others from the harful effects of noise pollution like, playing TV on controlled volume and getting noisy appliances serviced.

The noise pollution levels are rising so high in the recent past that if nothing is done to curb it then it might render the population deaf. It is high time that we recognise the malicious effects of noise around us and take prominent measures against it.