Most people prefer shopping in supermarkets nowadays. How does this affect the local shops? What are the positive and negative impacts of this development?

Shopping is generally thought of in terms of fulfilling needs. With the increasing facility of hypermarkets and shopping malls, the way people shop has changed over the years. However, it is not deniable that such infrastructural development affects the growth of local businesses. I believe that this development has more positives than negatives.

To begin with, there are various reasons to choose supermarkets over local shops. Firstly, malls provide a variety of products, so that buyers can get a number of options to choose from. To exemplify, products of different brands are sold here, from the national and international markets. Moreover, they do not only sell limited items but a range of products starting from essential goods to electronic items, which avail people to purchase items under one roof. In addition to this, products are merchandised in such a way that buyers can comfortably find the products they need easily.

Secondly, apart from these facilities they also render several entertainment options to make the shopping experience wonderful. This includes game arenas, movie theatres, and so on, due to which shoppers often spend more time over there. Finally, considering that often buyers feel hungry after shopping, this need is also being fulfilled in one place, because of the arrangement of an in-built food court selling all types of food.

On the other hand, all the said amenities are not possible to be provided by the small local shops because of the lack of space and due to limited investment. However, these shops are mostly popular only amongst the fewer people who live nearby. Because of the less market penetration they end up closing their shops or earn less profit.

To conclude, these factors have a positive impact on people’s lives and the economy. Hence, this phenomenon of shopping in supermarkets has more advantages than purchasing from local businesses.