Multinational companies are becoming increasingly common in developing countries.

What are the advantage and disadvantages of this?

Globalization has increased the connectivity among countries facilitating ease of trade. This has resulted in multinational firms setting up their offices in third world countries. This essay will analyze the advantages and disadvantages of this trend. Following this look, a reasoned conclusion will be shared.

On the one hand, international firms help poor countries not only in uplifting their economy by proving jobs for their citizens but also bring latest technology to these less advanced countries, which otherwise is difficult. Take the example of India, where Google opened 50 development centers all over the country providing 25,000 highly specialized tech jobs in areas like Computer science and Artificial Intelligence, areas in which India was lagging behind. In addition, this also opens doors to different cultures from around the world, which can help broaden an individuals perspective. For example, most of these companies are surrounded by international food chains and shopping malls wherein people can experience international foods and watch international movies and understand their cultures. Thus, it is clear that this trend certainly has some undeniable benefits.

However, despite these merits, there are also some drawbacks to having multinational companies in backward countries. To name one, it acts as a hindrance to the growth of local small companies and startups who do not have as much funds to spare as the international firms. For instance, in my city Hyderabad, which is considered to be a hub of multinational companies, it is very challenging for startups to survive because the standard market salary has been raised so high due to the prevalence of these firms that it is too expensive for small local companies to hire talented employees. From this it becomes quite evident that in some regions this trend can have unwanted consequences.

Finally, increasing number of international firms in third world countries can definitely improve their economy and as well as make them more technologically advanced. The advantages revealed in the above essay are more beneficial for my country, India, and I thus want this trend to continue. Developing countries around the world should weigh in the merits and demerits that this brings to them before making any decision.