Some people believe that studying history is very important and we must study the past to understand the present. Others say that it is useless and should not be studied at all.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Today History is included in almost every highschool curriculum around the world. But is it beneficial to learn the past ? or is it just waste of time? While some believe that it to be totally useless, other claim it essential to understand the present. This essay analyze both camps before a reasoned conclusion is drawn.

Firstly, humans have the tendency to repeat same actions over time and taking lessons from the past can be an excellent way to identify and curb unwanted outcomes. For example, all the dictators and emperors who started wars throughout the history like Hitler, Napoleon and Mao had similar characteristic traits, they all wanted radical changes in the society. Therefore learning about these people can help identify any such behaviors in our current leaders and take necessary actions before it's too late. In addition, almost all the natural disasters that occurred throughout the history have been a direct consequence of human actions, which is why learning about this can help us keep our interactions with the environment in check. Thus this makes it clear why this view has garnered so much support.

However, it can also be argued that in today's fast pace and sophisticated world it would be more fruitful to study new technologies rather than wasting time on the past events because there's no career in it. For instance, according to an article published in Newyork Times the professionals with least paying job in 2017 were ones with a degree in History. If people keep studying only history, they will not be able to survive in the modern job market. From this it is evident why some people support this view. This however can easily be tackled if those interested in history study it as a minor degree and not pursue a career in this field.

In summary, knowledge of history help us identify patterns in our present society, which can be useful to prevent disasters, but also it is not very useful in finding a job. I believe that the positive aspects of studying history heavily outweigh its negative aspects and thus every person should study it.