Some people believe that studying history is very important and we must study the past to understand the present. Others say that it is useless and should not be studied at all.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

The importance of learning about our collective past as humans has been often debated in the academic circles. Some people tend to believe that it is an utter waste of time, while still there are others who are of the view that the history is our best teacher. The essay discusses both school of thoughts and presents a couple of arguments in favor of the latter opinion.

The study of history is not only important but it is necessary. We as humans can learn from the mistakes committed in the past and not repeat them. Case in point is the disaster at the nuclear power plant in Chernobyl. The meltdown of the reactor led to many deaths and caused many more to live with permanent mutations for the rest of their lives. Today, most of the history classes teach a lesson about that incident and this has helped keep the memory of that alive in the public memory. As a result, many governments have either completely banned nuclear power plants or have at least undertaken severe precautionary measures. Hence, I too agree that study of history is indeed very important.

The other school of thought argues that educating students about the history is useless and a waste of time. They point to the fact that we cannot change what has happened in the past and thus we should not spend our time in learning about the history. What they are essentially saying is that the history never repeats itself. I completely disagree with this viewpoint as history does repeat itself. For example, the two world wars, which decimated most of the Western Europe, are a testament to not learning from the history.

In conclusion, students should definitely be taught about the historical events as it makes them aware of successes and failures of the past generations. This will help them avoid the mistakes and build on the victories of the past.