In some countries levels of health and fitness are decreasing and average weights are increasing.

What do you think are the causes of these problems and what are some possible solutions?

There is a growing trend, mostly in the developed world, of rising obesity and dipping health levels. The essay will shed light on the reasons behind and put forth potential steps to curb this public health disaster.

A sedentary lifestyle and a diet full of processed food are two major causes of the aforementioned problem. These days’ people prefer to spend their free time binge watching TV series on Netflix instead of performing some kind of exercises. In a recent study, it has been observed that people spend 10 hours a week watching shows on the internet. Such a life provides no time for fitness and health related activities. The second reason contributing to increase in obesity is high sugar content in most of the processed foods. The sugar content in these foods is considerably higher than the natural food. Processed food is easy to buy and takes less time to cook. The current work-life balance forces an individual to follow bad dietary habits.

However, not all is lost in this battle against unhealthy lifestyle. In order to tackle the problems, the government has to step in. The government should create targeted awareness campaigns focusing on the regions most affected by the trend. These campaigns should motivate the masses to adopt a healthy lifestyle and make them aware of the hazardous diseases caused by obesity. For instance, organized marathons in many cosmopolitan cities have encouraged the citizens to leave their couches and get fitter. Additionally, the government should also increase the taxes on processed foods. This will deter the people from making unhealthy dietary choices in favor of home-cooked food leading to an overall healthy life.

In conclusion, the upward trend in average weights poses a major risk to the society. Although, an individual is responsible for his or her health, the government can pitch in and provide an impetus toward the goal of a fitter society.