Museums are places of cultural beauty and historical interest for many people. Some museums are open to public for free of charges. On the other hand, many museums set a fixed entrance fee. In my opinion, the benefits of charging entrance fee at museums outnumber the limitations. The following paragraphs analyze the advantages of collecting fees at museums.

Firstly, entrance fees increase the income of museums. These centers do not have any other forms of revenue. That means, the respective governments have to look after all the financial matters of these types of organizations. The revenue generated at museums could be used for paying employees’ salary and renovating the damaged areas of the museum. Thus it increases the financial capacity of museums. Hill palace at Cochin is a perfect example of this type of museums.

Secondly, charging an entry fee could normally restrict the entry of people who are not interested in history and culture. For instance, if admissions are free of cost people like lovers, beggars and rogues may enter and hinder the seriousness of the place. Moreover, it can lead to congestion in the public museums and actual visitors may stay away from visiting the museums. Hence, admission fees at museums play an important role in restricting people from using museums for personal purposes and providing hassle free entry and visit for the real art lovers.

In conclusion, I believe that the merits of charging entry fees at museums are more than demerits because this increases the revenues of the arts center and stops people from using these institutions for their personal objectives