New technologies have changed the way children spend their free time. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

The innovation of modern technologies has changed the leisure activities of children. While I accept that this revolutionary change can sometimes have a positive effect on children, I believe that they are more likely to have a harmful impact.

On the one hand, enjoying new technologies can be both entertaining and educational for children. They can play video games or speak with friends in their spare time simply by using a mobile phone or laptop which are often more exciting and engaging than normal activities past-times. In addition, children can enjoy various types of tasks solving games in the internet, and these games encourage imagination and creativity, as well as concentration, logical thinking and problem solving. A recent discussion on TED Talks shows that puzzle games such as Angry Birds or Cut the Rope could enhance the children analytical skills.

However, I would argue that the drawbacks of this situation outweigh the benefits. Enjoying technologies in free time can discourage children from active or creative works and lead to sedentary lifestyle. For example, a video game offers constantly scores, new targets and frequent rewards to keep users playing and children become addicted to achieve them. This could always engage them in gaming at home rather than other energetic tasks. The rise in obesity in recent years has also been linked in part to this lifestyle. Another downside is that children occupy their free time with enjoying TV or playing video games. Hence, parents and their offspring have less chance to intimate with each other.

In conclusion, it seems to me that the potential dangers of enjoying technologies are more significant than the possible benefits.