In recent years, the family structure and the role of its members are gradually changing. What kinds of changes can occur? Do you think these changes are positive or negative?

It is true that the family pattern and the function of its members are progressively varying at the moment. There can be several type of changes occur, and I consider it to be very negative.

One of the main changes is that, most people become city dwellers due to effect of urbanization whereas living expenditures and circumstances are favorable for a small family. Thus, they would prefer to stay in a nuclear family, and maintain less family members because it could be economical and privacy supportive. A recent survey shows that in Bangladesh the rising rate of nuclear families are increased 20% within one decade. Another change is that both parents are the bread winners for their families, and they have to play equal role at home. It has become socially acceptable for women partners to engage in different occupations and pursue a career.

In my view, the changes described above can be harmful for a society. Many people leave traditional duty about caring elderly parents, because of pursuing the idea of a nuclear family. Thus, it is a common scenario in our society for elderly parents to stay at old age home rather than with families. At the same time, children and parents seem to be less close nowadays because both parents often work full time and spend less time with their offspring. Hence, children behaviour can be influenced by friends, television and the internet which leads them to experience with peer pressure and obesity related issues.

In conclusion, the changing of family shape and its member responsibilities are a result of wider changes of society, I believe that these can disadvantageous for elderly and children in a society.