The news is an important source of knowledge for all of us about the world, especially in this era of technology. Journalists are mainly responsible to bring this news to us but not all of them are true to their responsibilities and ethics. How much can we trust the journalists?

Articles in paper media or digital medium has become an vital source to keep abreast with changing trends around the world. Some people have an opinion that not all reporters present the news that reflect the situation at ground level. This essay will discuss the effect of commercialization of news and new options for honest and aspiring journalists.

To begin with , there is ample evidence that majority of article reported these days have no credibility. The central reason for this, only few corporations trying to control the media and presenting only selective information. This majorly effects journalism on a broader perspective as journalists are resorted to write or speak on topics which can sell out their magazines, papers or result in high TRP’s. To illustrate this, a significant broadcast channel in the USA has discarded potential news due to their potential to attract higher TRP’s as admitted by a former editor-in chief. Therefore it is conclusively clear that the rules of disclosing the data to public has changed rapidly consequently loosing the integrity of the profession.

Although there is a case for reliability of information presented to us, there is no shortage of independent journalists writing articles and publishing across different blogs. Technology advancements have opened opportunities and created an alternative medium to mainstream media. Responsible journalists who vow to keep their work ethics intact have an audience and readers that could be detrimental. For example, a simple article on farmers suicide in India by a journalist student has created chaos in parliament forcing the government to table a bill in the support of farmers. Thus it is possible to say that honest reporters exist and are crucial in bringing awareness to public.

To sum up, although there is a decrease in trustworthiness due to commercialization of news reported , there is no dearth of newsman nor the sources to be published.