News plays an important part of most people's lives. Why is news so important to people? Why is so much news dedicated to bad news? Should the news focus on good news instead?

As the connectivity has reached to the remotest parts of the globe, therefore, the news too has started becoming an important part of human lives as people are becoming more curious about the happening in the globe. it keeps people up to date not only in farthest corners of the country but in the metro cities as well. additionally news updates on weather help to provide the latest updates to the local population so they can safeguard themselves from natural disasters like flooding, earthquakes and Tsunami. For instance news content on the latest storm, "Maya" helped protect thousands of lives in the coastal belt of India.

however, an interesting fact has emerged in the past few decades whereby news channels or media houses have only focused on bad news. most of the channels broadcasted on the television show acts of crime like murder, communal riots, robbery and rape which tend to provide the highest television rating points. Although such news content most of the times attains the highest viewership as most of the people are interested in gossip however on the other band they tend to forget how such negative content will affect them and their family in the longer run. For instance, the recent mass shooting by youths in the United States is a clear example of how negative news affected the minds of juveniles thus leading them to a wrong path. additionally, a similar instance on fighting on some penny things between people once televised have led to communal riots.

Lastly, In my opinion, news channels and media houses have a greater role to play in televising good news as it will bring harmony to the human society. additionally, positive news like plantation of trees in the dry region by the Government in India has led local villages councils to take this initiative further by planting more trees thus making this a successful venture. Similarly, news about cleanliness drive of Ganges river in India has led to a positive development whereby various NGO have come together and started an initiative to further help clean the river therefore in my opinion news from media agencies should focus on good news.