News stories on TV and news papers are very often acompanied by pictures, some people say that these pictures are more effective than words. What is your opinion about this.

Images have become an integral part of the news on TV or in newspapers. Some people believe that adding the photographs relevant to the news will be more effective than the theoretical story. I completely agree with this phenomenon, in this fast-paced world; people only skim through the headlines and pictures which makes the news easier to comprehend. I will support my stance with valid arguments and examples.

Media is a highly competitive market and the journalist makes a lot of efforts to make their news interesting and attractive for the audience. It is quite evident that news with images grabs more attention. As through viewing pictures, the reader can quickly identify if the news is important to read further or not. To elucidate the point here, pictures make the news more appealing and attracting. For instance, I am a big fan of a political leader Imran Khan. If I see his picture in any newspaper, I make sure to read the whole story to stay updated about him. There is a probability of skipping the whole news if it's only mentioned in words.

Furthermore, through picture illustrations, media grabs the attention of all the age groups. For example, there is a separate session every Sunday magazine for kids. My daughter loves reading different stories and viewing beautiful cartoon pictures from the magazine and does not leave any page unread. That is primarily because of the appealing tactics of media that enforce the reader to read every part. If there is an incident reported at TV without the images, people will listen to the story with less interest. Whereas, if the same incident is shown with certain images, people will be eager to see more pictures to build an image in their mind.

To summarize, photography plays a pivotal role in any news success be it on Television or in the newspaper. Physiologically, people tend to view news with pictures as these images help them build their imaginations around the story more conveniently.