News stories on TV and in newspapers are very often accompanied by pictures. Some people say that these pictures are more effective than words. What is your opinion about this?

Many news coverages broadcasted on TV or published in newspaper usually has photographs attached. It is believed by many that these visuals have better impact than the words. I completely agree with this opine as pictures are more informative than words and people can understand news quickly compared to going through the passages.

First of all, photos contain plethora of information about the incident or any situation. One can not only capture ‘what’ about the news but can also grasp possible ‘how’ or ‘why’ about the news as well. For example, when a player or a team becomes victorious in a game, we see our newspapers and TV are full of pictures as this way audience can better capture emotions as well as news about the event. Moreover, these still visuals are quite interesting and attractive. A clear illustration to this is how newspapers publish special weekly editions specifying for kids are eye-catching and eventually they help them to read and focus more in study.

Secondly, in this fast paced life people has got limited time to spend on staying informed about what’s happening around. They don’t have luxury to read line by line to follow the news. In addition to that they find it very boring that a short piece of news has so much verbiage attached to it. In these scenarios pictures serve in the best way as one can get gist from them without looking at words. Furthermore, one can determine from the picture itself that the news would be interesting or not. Therefore, people prefer to go through images first to save their time and yet to get maximum useful information.

In conclusion, I completely agree with the opinion that images are much effective than words. These still visuals speak much more information than words and it also serves as a time saver for anyone in this busy lifestyle.