Not enough students around the world choose to study science subjects at university. What are the reasons for this? What impact does this issue have on society?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

The latest statistics have shown that in the contemporary world number of students who choose to study science subjects at the tertiary level is below the required level. This is happening because of the high cost of scientific studies, and a great deal of diligence require to study these subjects. This situation has significant consequences on contemporary society, such as insufficient doctors, researchers, and IT professionals.

One of the main reasons behind pupils to drop the idea of pursuing degrees in the science field at the university level is that the fee for these subjects is not budget-friendly. As a consequence, aspirants opt to study less costly courses rather than dropping them out of studies. Further, not every institute offers a scholarship that could fully compensate for study expenses. In other words, only those students can afford such studies whose family can readily bear the study budget.

Another cause of this is the diligence required to study such hard subjects. In other words, science subjects require a great deal of commitment and dedicated hard work, which cannot be expected from everyone. Doctors, researchers, and IT professionals have to study day and night to get higher grades and admission in renowned institutes, for instance. Therefore, pupils who are aware of this situation opt to choose subjects which are easy and do not demand extra effort.

This has led to some significant effects, insufficient doctors, researchers, and IT professionals particularly. Although there are many people in the field of science, the recent pandemic of COVID-19 to which approximately 4 lakh of people globally succumbed to death, the number of doctors and researchers is significantly low. Further, the world has witnessed the significance of IT professionals to intact the global economy online in such outbreaks. Hence, contemporary society needs more people to study science so that unpredictable situations can be catered.

In conclusion, high budgeted scientific studies, and a great deal of hard work to study these subjects are a few of many reasons for the increasing number of students who opt not to study science subjects. Consequently, this situation is leading contemporary society to the scarcity of human resources in the science field.