Not enough students around the world choose to study science subjects at university. What are the reasons for this? What impact does the issue have on the society?

The number of students opting to study science courses in universities around the world today are not as many as should be because undergraduates these days, choose to study in other fields due to some reasons that will be discussed in this essay as well the effect this has on the community.

Although, there may be several reasons why students opt for other fields of study, lack of interest in science due to the duration of study is one of the many reasons people read other courses. In recent times, with the advancement in technology, the younger generations are geared towards studying I.T related courses rather than spend numerous years training to become scientists. For example, it will take less than four years to obtain a certificate in software development. However, scientists spend longer years training to become one. Also, studying a science related course has a proven track record of been a highly demanding career path which over time, does not give back commensurate and profitable returns notwithstanding the efforts put into the process.

As a result of the choices college students make in choosing their careers, the community suffers in several ways. For example, a shortfall of staff will be experienced in various fields of science while the I.T sector and other popularly selected fields may be oversaturated resulting in low availability of jobs. Additionally, the society ends up channeling funds meant for the development of the community into sponsoring expatriates to carry out basic science projects.

To conclude, college students are increasingly making career choices outside the field of science because they do not desire it and also do not consider it a profitable venture. This has impacted the society negatively by causing the scientific sector huge drawbacks also costing large sums to hire experts to do simple science jobs.