Nowadays children are consuming too many sugar-based drinks. What are the reasons and the solutions for this situation?

Child nutrition has remained a concern of every parent in this world. Survey depicts that the children are consuming a high amount of sugar-based drinks nowadays. In this essay, I would like to throw light on some of the facts behind this negative development along with possible measures.

To commence with, Most children possess sweet-tooth since the time of their birth. The sole reason behind this innate nature could be that the first taste which kids experience after their birth is often a sweet taste. For instance, Children start to take milk of her mother which contains natural sugar, In India, kids are given honey in their first feed and so on. Hence, as the child grows, he will develop likings toward sugar-based drinks. Secondly, many manufacturers of soft drink and health drink target children as a beacon of their product.Therefore, they develop their marketing tools using child model which influence children to consume those soft drinks and health drinks which are highly concentrated with sugar. lastly, Many children dislike taking plain milk due to the smell of the milk. However, to provide nutrition of milk like calcium, parents are compelled to add some flavour to eliminate the taste and odour of natural milk . This flavor also contains the major part of the sugar in their ingredients.

Sugar plays a vital role in the health of children. however, excessive use of sugar can lead the ailments related to the insulin gland in later age. So, the consumption of sugar should be restricted at the certain level from the age of childhood which can be done in following possible ways.Firstly, Parents should educate kids about the negative implications of drinking soft drinks by showing them the process of manufacturing of those drinks in plants. Secondly, parents should cultivate a habit of drinking juices of fruits and vegetables those contain natural sugar, in place of health drinks which contain preservatives as a part of its ingredient.

Finally, Parents should understand the daily requirement of sugar in child's food with the help of a proper dietician. And based on the individual requirement, sugar should be supplied in the milk through any other taste enhancer. These smal l initiatives can impose major changes in the reduction of sugar from the children's diet.

All in all, the children require perfect balance of nutrition for their better mental and physical development where we can not ignore the propar proportion sugar in their food. Hence, Parents should commonsurate the need of glucose through natural sugar is the best alternative of the problem.