“Nowadays children are undisciplined because their parents are busy with their career.”

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

What could parents do to build a sense of discipline among children?

Forming a sense of discipline among children is an important responsibility for parents as it determines a child’s future as well as the overall social condition. However, with the increasing pressure in jobs and need for money to support the family, many parents are unable to share quality time with their children and those couples fail to teach them moral values. This has undeniably lead to some juvenile delinquencies including discipline problems. I believe parents should spend more time with their offspring and teach them through examples to reverse this trend.

To begin with, when children, as a whole in a society, become disruptive, they are not the one to be blamed. Parents are the first teachers and perhaps the most reliable one in times of a child’s joy and vulnerability, and they have to spend time with their children. Ideal parents teach their children the good rules and set examples to meet the expectation of parenthood. Lessons learned from parents shape a child’s character and this is why psychologists emphasize so much on good parenting. Career and social status are important, but not more than the future of a child and this is why parents should maintain a balance in their professional and family life.

Once a child becomes rogue, the parents are the persons to suffer the most. Due to the relationship of child nurturing and the future of a child is interconnected, the fathers and mothers should instil good moral values in a child in the early stage of their life, not regret when it is already too late.

To conclude, busy parents leave their children on their own only to miss their chance to make them ideal citizens of the society. No matter how alluring the career prospects are, good parents should always make time to share with their future generation and teach them fundamental rules of life including the importance of discipline.