Nowadays children spend more time playing computer games than doing sports. Why is it happening? Does it have a positive or negative effect on their development?

In recent years, it is observed that the youngsters pay more attention to computer gaming as compared to outdoor sports. The reason for the increasing popularity of digital gaming is undoubtedly the advancement of computers. The following paragraphs present, that why children prefer computer games to sports and also the adverse effects of modern day smart computer games on a child's development.

Firstly, technological development has resulted in the creation of high-performance computers, which is the reason for increasing e-gaming. Secondly, these higher capacity processors and advanced graphics cards provide real-like visuals, which are highly addictive. For instance, with the introduction of the dedicated gaming chipset, the modern day computer games feel like reality. Additionally, portability of the computers is adding to the cause and as an outcome the kids these days are admiring this effortless yet entertaining way of play.

On the other hand, this revolution of indoor digital gaming is adversely affecting the growth and development of the children. Despite, children are safer when they play indoors, however, not getting involved in the outdoor sports hamper their mental growth and health in various ways. For example, staying glued to the screens might weaken the children's eyesight, and without any physical activity, the body drops immunity thus this results in disease-prone health. Furthermore, excessive computer gaming will not develop the social skills a child needs, and therefore a lack of these traits could negatively impact the career of the child. Consequently, less outdoor sports are not beneficial.

To conclude, advancement in the computing world; remains the major issue of the decreased popularity of sports amongst youngsters which ultimately deteriorate children's health and consequently overall growth might suffer.